Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018 Nominees: What Makes a Pro Football Hall of Famer?

By Allie Shriver

The Pro Football Hall of Fame just announced its nomination list for the Class of 2018 and boy, it’s a good one! With 108 nominees to choose from, this year’s selection committee has its work cut out for them. There are so many things to consider when selecting who goes into the Hall of Fame. What truly makes a Hall of Famer?

Pro Football Hall of Fame Class Selections


There you have it; charisma, community involvement, dedication to the game, impact on the sport, amount of Pro Bowl appearances, statistics, and MVPs are just the tip of the iceberg when considering who should be enshrined. Once enshrined in the Hall, members must uphold the mission of the Hall which is no easy feat!  

Class of 2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame Nominees

Wondering who’s on the list for 2018? Here’s a quick look.


Randall Cunningham, Rich Gannon, Donovan McNabb, Steve McNair, Phil Simms


Tiki Barber, Earnest Byner, Roger Craig, Corey Dillon, Eddie George, Edgerrin James, Lorenzo Neal, Fred Taylor, Herschel Walker (also KR), Ricky Watters


Isaac Bruce, Donald Driver, Henry Ellard (also PR), Torry Holt, Chad Johnson, Randy Moss, Terrell Owens, Sterling Sharpe, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith, Steve Smith, John Taylor, Hines Ward


Mark Bavaro, Ben Coates, Ferrell Edmunds, Jay Novacek


Willie Anderson (T), Matt Birk (C), Tony Boselli (T), Lomas Brown (T), Ruben Brown (G), Ray Donaldson (C), Alan Faneca (G), Bill Fralic (G/T), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), Steve Hutchinson (G), Joe Jacoby (T), Mike Kenn (T), Kevin Mawae (C/G), Tom Nalen (C), Nate Newton (G), Bart Oates (C), Jeff Saturday (C), Richmond Webb (T), Steve Wisniewski (G)


La’Roi Glover (DT/NT), Leonard Marshall (DE/DT), Keith Millard (DT/NT/DE), Leslie O’Neal (DE), Michael Dean Perry (DT/DE), Simeon Rice (DE), Richard Seymour (DT), Neil Smith (DE), Greg Townsend (DE/NT/LB), Kyle Vanden Bosch (DE), Bryant Young (DT)


Carl Banks, Cornelius Bennett, Tedy Bruschi, Seth Joyner, Ray Lewis, Greg Lloyd, Wilber Marshall, Clay Matthews, Willie McGinest (also DE), Karl Mecklenburg, Sam Mills, Joey Porter, Darryl Talley, Zach Thomas, Brian Urlacher


Eric Allen (CB), Steve Atwater (S), Ronde Barber (CB/S), LeRoy Butler (S), Brian Dawkins (SS), Rodney Harrison (S), Ty Law (CB), Albert Lewis (CB), John Lynch (S), Dennis Smith (S), Everson Walls (CB), Darren Woodson (S)


Gary Anderson (K), Sean Landeta (P), Nick Lowery (K)


Brian Mitchell (KR/PR also RB), Steve Tasker (ST also WR)


Don Coryell, Bill Cowher, Tom Flores, Mike Holmgren, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, Buddy Parker, Richie Petitbon, Dan Reeves, Marty Schottenheimer, Clark Shaughnessy, Dick Vermeil

According to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, “Eighteen finalists will be presented to the full 48-member Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee during its annual selection meeting on “Selection Saturday,” the day before Super Bowl LII. The finalists will consist of 15 Modern-Era finalists, the recently named Senior Finalists, Robert Brazile and Jerry Kramer, and the Contributor Finalist, Bobby Beathard.

The Selection Committee will meet on Saturday, Feb. 3, 2018, in Minneapolis, Minn. to elect the Class of 2018. While there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the selection process by-laws provide that between four and eight new members will be selected.”

 Learn more about the Selection Process and the Enshrinement Week here

Attend the 2018 Enshrinement Festivities!

You can join us for the 2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week Powered by Johnson Controls as a VIP! You’ll have exclusive access to Hall of Fame sanctioned events, the weekend’s parties, and autograph sessions. Don’t miss your opportunity to see history unfold! Call us at 844.751.0532 or click below to find out more!

Get My 2018 Pro Football Hall of Fame Ticket Package